Asian Senior Men’s Volleyball Championship draw announced


Hosts Iran, world No.10 and the consecutive two-time Asian champions. have been drawn in Pool A with Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Oman and Chinese Taipei following the drawing of lots of the 18th Asian Señor Men’s Volleyball Championship in Tehran.

A total of 17 countries – Iran, India, Kazakhstan, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Turkmenistan, China, Korea, Japan, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, Australia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia and Bahrain, have confirmed participation in the Asian meet, which is due to be held in the Iranian capital from July 31 to August 8, 2015. Mr Shanrit Wongprasert, chairman of the AVC Sports Events Committee, conducted the official draw ceremony last Wednesday.

At the previous championship in Dubai, the United Arab Emirates two years ago, Iran reigned supreme for two times in a row. Korea finished second, with China in third place. Japan came in fourth place, while Australia, Thailand and India finished fifth, sixth and seventh places. The other rankings were Lebanon, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan, Qatar, Bahrain, Iraq, the UAE, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan, Kuwait, Myanmar, Oman, Afghanistan and Saudi Arabia.

DRAW RESULT (team seeding in blanket)
Pool A: Iran (Organizers and 1st); Kazakhstan (8th); Kuwait; Oman; Chinese Taipei
Pool B: Australia (2nd); India (7th); Turkmenistan; Qatar
Pool C: Korea (3rd); Thailand (6th); Pakistan; Saudi Arabia
Pool D: China (4th); Japan (5th); Sri Lanka; Bahrain

JULY 31: Kuwait v Iran; Oman v Kazakhstan; India v Turkmenistan; Saudi Arabia v Korea; Thailand v Pakistan; China v Sri Lanka
AUGUST 1: Chinese Taipei v Kazakstan; Kuwait v Oman; Qatar v Australia; Korea v Thailand; Japan v Bahrain
AUGUST 2: Iran v Oman; Chinese Taipei v Kuwait; Turkmenistan v Australia; India v Qatar; Pakistan v Saudi Arabia; Bahrain v Sri Lanka
AUGUST 3: Kazakhstan v Kuwait; Iran v Chinese Taipei; Qatar v Turkmenistan; Korea v Pakistan; Japan v China
AUGUST 4: Oman v Chinese Taipei; Kazakstan v Iran; Australia v India; Thailand v Saudi Arabia; Japan v Sri Lanka; Bahrain v China